Happy American Thanksgiving!

Sometimes I think it’s really awesome to be Canadian, not just because I come from a cool (no pun intended) country, but also because I get to celebrate TWO thanksgivings :)  You can never be too thankful and it was a blessing to have gotten to share it with some good friends.  For everything in my life – my family, my friends, this life – I am thankful.

Apple Pie

Ingredients for crust: Please refer to Portuguese egg tart recipe for crust

Ingredients for filling:
Adapted from ChocolateSuze

8 Granny Smith apples
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp flour

*Preheat oven to 350F

1. Slice apples.  I personally like them very thin, but I know it can be a pain to individually slice every single apple like I did …

2. Combine all the ingredients in a pot.  Stir on medium heat for ~10 minutes or until apples are soft.

3. Place crust in pie pan.  This crust is a little hard to work with because it’s quite crumbly.  For the bottom crust, I just broke off small pieces of the crust and flattened it into the pie pan.  Then because I know a lattice crust wouldn’t work with such a crumbly dough, I used my gingerbread man cookie cutter and cut little gingerbread men and arranged them so there was enough overlap to act like a top crust.

4. Beat 1 egg and brush lightly over crust.

5. Bake for 45 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

I made these because everyone always raves about how good the Red Lobster cheddar bay biscuits are, so I tried to recreate them for Thanksgiving.

Imitation Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits
Adapted from Rasa Malaysia

Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose flour
dash of sugar (I just eyeballed a small handful)
1/2 cup powdered milk
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 cup baking powder
1/2 cup shortening
2/3 cup milk
1 cup cheddar cheese (shredded)
1/4 cup butter (melted)
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon dried parsley

*Preheat oven to 400F

1. Combine flour, sugar, powdered milk, salt and baking powder.  Cut in shortening.

2. Add milk and cheddar cheese to the dry ingredients and mix to combine.

3. Roll dough into small balls and bake for 8-10 minutes.

4. Melt butter and add garlic powder and dried parsley.

5. Take biscuits out of the oven and brush with the butter-garlic-parsley mixture.  Pop back into the oven for an additional 3-5 minutes, or until the tops begin to brown.

Leave a Reply

