Peach Cupcakes


I love these cupcakes.  I remember the first time I tried them was in my first year of medical school, when two classmates of mine made them for a book club they were hosting.  Since then, I have made them twice with much success.  Normally it’s made with a brown sugar cream cheese frosting, which is as delicious as it sounds, but being the frugal medical student that I am, I reused the leftover vanilla frosting that I had frozen from my prior chocolate cupcake post, and I thought the combination worked just as well.

Unfortunately, I have no great insight today, other than a quote I happened to glance at – ‘happiness is a condition, not a destination’.  As type A, goal-oriented as I am, I can appreciate the importance of occasionally leaving expectations at home and simply living in the moment =)

Peach Cupcakes
Adapted from Big Eats and Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients:
3 cups cake flour [or use 5x sifted all-purpose flour substituting 1tbsp cornstarch for 1tbsp flour per cup of flour]
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks or 6 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups sour cream
3  large peaches [or 1 can of peaches]

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Butter muffin tins or line with muffin cups.

2. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and set aside.

3. Cream the butter and sugars together, beating until fluffy.

4. Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides and bottom of the bowl between each addition, and then the vanilla.

5.  Alternate stirring int he dry ingredients with sour cream, starting and ending with the dry ingredients.

6. Gently fold in peaches, cut in small chunks.

7. Bake 18-22 minutes or until done.  Let cool before frosting.  I just reused my vanilla frosting from my previous cupcake adventure, but I would try the brown sugar cream cheese frosting on the smitten kitchen website.  It’s fabulous =)

Leave a Reply

