Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am still alive.
I have not abandoned my attempts to document my baking (and medical) adventures.

I have, however, been quite busy.  I think one of the most interesting things about my research year, on top of an extremely exciting project where I’m chasing down the culprit behind an interesting observation, is that I have rediscovered my love for random acts of kindness.  Medicine, in some ways, is like a ‘random’ act of kindness.  It’s not random in the sense that, obviously, people are choosing to see a physician for an expertise; it is, however, quite random that as a result of this connection, patients will willingly and immediately divulge their life story to you – a privilege that normally necessitates years of trust building.  I have often wished that this privilege extended to everyday relationships just as easily as they occur in the doctor-patient one, and I’ve spent a lot of time wondering why it doesn’t.

I guess at the heart of it, physicians have to care for you, whereas others must choose to.  But I think it’s this element of choice in the random act of kindness that I like the most.  I think it’s what makes me smile when someone holds the elevator to my apartment at the end of a long day or when I share in a short exchange over a common grievance like puddles on the running trail.  It’s because I know that for 10 seconds, this person has chosen to care.

Hopefully my college will feel the same way when they eat these cookies :)

Chocolate Chip Cookies:
Adapted from The Girl who ate Everything

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 325F.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or grease with butter.

2. Sift together flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

3. Cream together butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.  Beat in the vanilla (yep, an entire tablespoon of it!!), egg and egg yolk until well blended.

4. Stir in the dry ingredients and chocolate chips.

5. Roll the dough into small balls and bake for approximately 11-14 minutes (mine took 13 minutes and I made 1″ diameter balls).

6. Cool before serving – be careful as they are quite fragile before they completely cool!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

    • thank you! I apologize that the following option isn’t working – I checked the settings and everything seems okay, so perhaps it was just a temporary website glitch. let me know if it still doesn’t work!

Leave a Reply

