Carrot Cake

About one year ago, several friends and I went to Korean BBQ to celebrate K’s birthday.  I recall being late because I was at another birthday party, but, as always, I still brought a cake.  It was red velvet without the food coloring because back then, I didn’t believe that the food coloring added anything (in retrospect, I actually believe it does add to the flavor).  It was at this celebration that I promised my other friend that I would make her a carrot cake for her birthday in November.  When her birthday rolled around, however, I ended up being on Bayview medicine call the night of her party, and I didn’t end up making her that cake.  Fast forward November 2011 – I finally made the carrot cake, pictured above, and I have to say that this recipe is a real winner :)

I have always had great episodic memory, and people always ask me how I do it.  I think the thing is that everything people say to me matters.  I pay attention and I care.  And when you do both, I find memory comes quite easily :o)

Carrot Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients for the cake:
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
2 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups canola oil
4 large eggs
3 cups grated peeled carrots (I used 6 small-medium carrots)
1 cups coarsely chopped walnuts

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Butter the bottom of an 9″ springform pan, line it with parchment, re-butter the pan and lightly flour the surface and the sides.  The reason you do this is to facilitate removal of the cake when it’s done.

2. Whisk flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in medium bowl to blend.

3. Whisk sugar and oil in large bowl until well blended. Whisk in eggs 1 at a time.

4. Add flour mixture and stir until blended. Stir in carrots, walnuts.

5. Pour into prepared springform pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.

6. Remove from the oven and let cool completely before frosting.

Ingredients for maple cream cheese frosting:
Two (8-ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup pure maple syrup

1. Beat all ingredients until fluffy and spreadable.  Chill in the refrigerator for at least half an hour.  I doubled the amount of icing sugar because I liked a firmer consistency to my icing.  I found the 2 cups suggested by smitten kitchen to be too drippy, even after chilling.

2. Frost the cooled cake.

Leave a Reply

